Child Care Safety:  Frequently Asked Questions

The primary responsibility of the Department of Social Services’ Community Care Licensing Division (DSS) is to provide for the health and safety of children.  The following background information about criminal background clearances, laid out as “Frequently Asked Questions,” describes one way DSS, working with the Department of Justice, fulfills its responsibility for children’s health and safety.

Child Care in California

1. How many child care facilities are licensed in California?
There are approximately 44,000 homes and 14,000 centers licensed to provide care in California.

2. How many children receive care?
These facilities have space for 1,100,000 children on any given day.  

3. How many people work in child care in the state?
About 275,000 persons work or live (in the case of the family child care homes) in these facilities.  All of these persons are required to submit fingerprints for a criminal records clearance before they can work in the facility or before the home can be licensed.

In addition, the state pays for child care for low income parents, such as CalWORKs participants, who can elect to have an adult care for their child -- these caregivers do not need a license if they care only for the children of one family, but they are subject to a criminal records clearance.  (This program is called Trustline.)  There are currently 115,000 people in the Trustline registry who are cleared to care for children.  Since the program’s inception 20 years ago, 15,000 applicants have failed clearance.  

Criminal Records Clearances

1. Who must submit fingerprints for a criminal records clearance?
All persons who work in a child care facility, all persons who own a child care facility, all persons who live in a child care facility, and all non-relatives who are paid by the state to care for the children of low-income families must receive a criminal records clearance.  During the past five years, legislation has increased the number of persons who must be cleared, including cooks and janitors, even though they may have limited contact with the children in care.

2. Do we have any assurances that everyone who must be cleared has submitted fingerprints for a clearance?
DSS reports that compliance with this requirement has increased over the past five years as a result of legislation permitting the Department to levy fines of up to $100 per day against facilities that have an employee or a resident for whom no clearance has been sought or received.

3. How many people submit fingerprints each year in order to work or live in a child care facility?
In 2001, the Department of Justice (DOJ) processed 93,000 criminal records clearances for persons associated with child care:

· 42,000 center staff

· 27,000 family child care home residents and staff

· 24,000 “Trustline” submissions 

4. How is the background check conducted?
When an individual submits fingerprints, the California Department of Justice (DOJ) conducts a background check.  If the individual has no criminal history, DOJ forwards a clearance notice to the applicant or licensee and to DSS.  If the individual has a criminal history, DOJ sends a transcript to DSS.  The transcript shows arrests and convictions, including misdemeanors and felonies.  DSS staff reviews the transcript and notifies the facility immediately by telephone if the individual must be removed from the facility.  DSS will then send an exemption notification letter to the applicant or licensee.  The letter explains how to request an exemption and lists requirements for the exemption.  If the individual must be removed from the facility, he or she may not return until DSS grants an exemption.
5. How many of these 93,000 persons in 2001 turned out to have some kind of criminal record (rap sheet)?
DOJ reports that about 12,000 persons (13 percent of those who submitted fingerprints in connection to child care in 2001) had a rap sheet that DOJ forwarded to DSS.

6. What did DSS do with these 12,000 rap sheets?
Slightly less than 1 percent of these 12,000 individuals had been convicted of one of 51 crimes that immediately disqualify a person from working in a child care program, holding a child care license, or living in a facility licensed for child care.  (The list of those crimes is attached at the end of this FAQ.)  DSS notified these individuals and their employers that they cannot remain on the premises (or, in the case of an applicant to operate a facility, be granted a license).  

Upon review of the rap sheet, DSS gave permission to work in child care to another 14 to 15 percent of the 12,000 individuals with a rap sheet (1,700 to 1,800) for one of two reasons: the rap sheet contained an infraction, but no conviction for a misdemeanor or felony, or, the rap sheet contained:

· One misdemeanor and probation has ended more than three years prior to the application date,

· Two misdemeanors and probation has ended more than five years prior to the application date, or

· Three misdemeanors and probation ended more than ten years prior to the application date.

NB: there are no specific felonies or misdemeanors that are automatically waived, only minor traffic violations.  All misdemeanors and felony convictions bar the individual from a licensed facility unless they meet the above criteria or otherwise earn an exemption.

The remaining 10,000 persons (85 percent of 12,000) with a rap sheet were eligible for an exemption.  They had 30 days to apply for the exemption and provide DSS with evidence of rehabilitation and redemption.  

In 2001, about half of the people eligible for an exemption applied for one.  The DSS acted on 5,700 applications for an exemption, granting 3,148 exemptions (55 percent) and denying 2,552.  In 2000, DSS granted 2,266 exemptions and denied 2,633.  In 1999, DSS granted 2,485 exemptions and denied 1,813.  Since 1995, the Department has granted 14,559 exemptions and denied 12,728 – a 53/47 ratio.

In summary, of the 93,000 persons who submitted fingerprints in 2001 seeking a clearance to provide child care (or to live in a licensed family child care home):

· 81,000 were cleared outright  (87 percent)

· 1,800 were cleared after review of their record (2 percent)

· 3,148 were cleared after review of evidence of their rehabilitation (3 percent)

· 100 were denied outright

· 4,400 were denied a clearance and chose not to seek an exemption (5 percent)

· 2,552 were denied a clearance after review of evidence of their rehabilitation (3 percent)

7. How complete is the data base that DOJ uses when compiling rap sheets?
The DOJ believes that its data base contains virtually all California criminal records, except perhaps some “cite and release” records.  DOJ reports that it receives 95 percent of all arrests electronically and 80 percent of all dispositions electronically.  

8. What is the nature of the review DSS conducts when an applicant with a criminal record does request an exemption?
To request an exemption the individual must submit to DSS:

· A description of the capacity in which the individual will be associated with the licensed facility.  

· A written request from the licensee or applicant on behalf of the individual.  A written request from the affected individual on his or her own behalf if the licensee chooses not to request an exemption and terminates the individual from employment. 

· A copy of the signed Criminal Record Statement (LIC-508) that was completed at the time of hire. 

· A written statement signed by the individual describing the events surrounding each conviction including the approximate date, what happened, why it happened, and any other information that he or she believes is important about the crime. 

· The individual shall also address what he or she has done or how his or her life has changed to prevent him or her from committing this type of offense again. 

· Verification of any training, educational classes, therapy, counseling sessions or other supporting information such as a Certificate of Rehabilitation. 

· Three signed character reference letters including the telephone number and address of the person writing the letter. Character reference letters must be current and can not be from the individual's relatives or family members nor from employees associated with the licensed facility. The character reference letters must be dated. 

· The individual's current mailing address and telephone number.

DSS then conducts a study of the applicant’s criminal record to determine whether the applicant has been rehabilitated and has shown redemption for their crime.  DSS considers the nature of the crime, the pattern of criminal behavior, rehabilitation, and the time that has passed since the conviction.

In August 2000, the Bureau of State Audits recommended to DSS that it increase supervisory review of the exemption process.  DSS reports that at the present time, a supervisor reviews all exemptions provided to an applicant with a felony conviction, and a supervisor reviews a random 10 percent sample of all exemptions granted to applicants who have a misdemeanor conviction.

9. What is the safety record of individuals who have been granted an exemption to provide child care or to live in a licensed child care facility.
The Department is not aware of any instances in which a person who has an exemption has harmed a child.  No such instances came to light during the state auditor’s investigation in 2000, nor in the investigations this year by state agencies and the press.  

Last year, the Department took about 2000 adverse actions against community care facilities; about one-third of those actions (fewer than 700) were taken against child care facilities.  These 700 actions are not cross-checked against exemptions granted, so the possibility exists that persons with exemptions brought on the DSS’s adverse actions.  

Public Right To Know, Emergency Regulations and Other Alternatives

1. Can members of the public find out from DSS about persons who have an exemption and who work at, live in, or own a child care facility?
In 2001, the California Appellate Court ruled (in CBS v. DSS) that DSS must make known, upon request from the public, which licensed facilities have someone connected to them who has an exemption.  Further, the court ruled that DSS must make the names known, upon request from the public, of persons who have received an exemption since 1995.  (The decision was not based on “a parent’s right to know,” but on the finding that “the public has an overwhelming interest in making sure that DSS does not abuse its discretion in granting exemptions… the right of the public and the press to review the government’s conduct of its business.”  Cal.App.4th 892, 110 Cal.Rptr.2d 889)

DSS will, upon request from a parent or any other member of the public, provide a match of the name of the individual with an exemption and the child care facility with which he or she is affiliated (as an employee, license holder, or resident).

2. Are child care facilities required to make public that someone affiliated with the facility has an exemption?
On March 21, the governor directed DSS to promulgate emergency regulations “to require child care providers to inform parents if their facility employs workers with criminal exemptions, including the nature of the exempt employee’s job responsibilities, and allow parents to review the most recent licensing report completed for the facility.”  

On March 22, DSS sent a memorandum to all licensed child care centers and homes requiring them to “Immediately notify parents if any licensee, staff person(s) (current and future), or other adults associated with your facility, including adults living in the home, have been granted a criminal record exemption.  You must use the enclosed form for his purpose.  Have all parents sign the form acknowledging you have advised them of any criminal record exemptions, and keep the receipt in the child’s file as proof that you notified the parents.”  

After sending out its March 22 memorandum and the form for parents to sign, DSS determined that it did not have the authority, without emergency regulations, to require these actions it had demanded of licensees.  Rather than rescind the letter, DSS has depended on word-of-mouth to relieve licensees of this requirement.  

Government Code Section 11346.1 allows state agencies to adopt emergency regulations if the agency makes a finding that the adoption of the regulation “is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety or general welfare.”  A state agency submits this written finding with the proposed regulations to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL), which has ten days to permit or to bar the promulgation of the emergency regulations.  During the first five days of this period, AOL accepts public comment.  If AOL permits the adoption of the emergency regulations, the state agency must then commence with a public hearing process.

3. What options for informing the public are available to the Legislature?
Current law (based on CBS v. DSS) directs DSS to provide to any member of the public who inquires the fact that given facilities have a person with an exemption and to provide the names of persons who have exemptions.

The governor’s letter of March 21 directs DSS to adopt emergency regulations to require child care providers to inform parents if their facility has a person with an exemption.

The now-unenforced DSS memorandum of March 22 directs all licensees to inform parents of the name of any employee at the facility who has an exemption.

S.B. 1335, as amended, requires persons with an exemption to allow conviction information to be shared with any member of the public who requests it.

DSS informed this staff member that it is preparing a list of the crimes committed by the 38 individuals in Orange County who were granted an exemption in 2001 (no names of individuals are attached).  According to DSS, two persons have felony convictions (one for welfare fraud); the remaining 36 have misdemeanor convictions.  The majority of those misdemeanors fall into the categories of shoplifting, petty theft, and welfare fraud.  The purpose of the list is to allay fears of the public that exempted persons may be guilty of crimes of violence or abuse.  Such a list prepared annually for large counties and groups of smaller counties may serve the purpose of allaying parents’ fears.

Summary of Orange County Register’s Charges

1. What did the Orange County Register’s investigation of child care license holders discover?
On March 17, in a series titled “Who’s watching the children,” the Register charged that 

· Almost 20 percent of Orange County’s child care facilities have failed to have their employees go through background checks;

· Convicted criminals are granted waivers and allowed to practice child care;

· Background checks – when they are made – are cursory;

· DSS and DOJ use databases that do not include 30 percent of California crimes;

· The state has failed to disclose all criminal information about child care workers.

2. How do these charges compare with findings in an August 2000 report of the State Auditor?
The California State Auditor made several recommendations to DSS regarding its review of criminal records:

· Follow its new procedures requiring management review of all criminal exemptions involving felonies.

· When granting exemptions, consider all available information, not just rap sheets.

· Use its tracking system to identify cases where those seeking exemptions are not providing information promptly, and take action to close or expedite those cases.

· Reevaluate its current policies and procedures for reviewing all individuals’ FBI records.

· Properly apply the requirements that allow individuals to work with or be in proximity to children while their FBI check is pending.

3. What are the State Auditor’s recent findings in regard to DSS improvements since 2000?
According to the State Auditor:

· DSS has taken corrective action on exercising greater caution when issuing criminal history exemptions.  

· DSS has taken partial corrective action on slow and incomplete background checks. 

· DSS has taken corrective action on FBI records.

Attached Materials
· List of 51 crimes that automatically disqualify a person from a child care facility.


· Table of exemptions requested and granted by DSS since 1995


· San Jose Mercury News editorial


· Materials from the Orange County Register, from the governor’s office, and from DSS are elsewhere in the packets.

Those crimes that merit dismissal of application; no exemption possible

1. Gang related intimidation of witnesses or victims (186.22, 136.1)

2. Any murder, attempted murder, voluntary manslaughter (187, 190-190.4 and 192a)

3. Any mayhem (203)

4. Torture (206)

5. Kidnapping (207, 208, 209, 209.5, 210)*

6. Any robbery (211, 212, 212.5, 213, 214)

7. Carjacking (215)

8. Assault with intent to commit mayhem, rape, sodomy or oral copulation (220)

9. Sexual battery (243.4)*

10. Rape (261a1,2,3,4,6)*

11. Rape of spouse (262a1,4)*

12. Rape in concert (264.1)*

13. Enticing minor into prostitution (266)

14. Inducing sexual intercourse by fear or consent through fraud (266c)

15. Pimping a minor (266b)

16. Pandering a minor (266ib)

17. Providing a minor under 16 for lewd or lascivious act (266j)

18. Abduction for prostitution (267)*

19. Aggravated assault of a child (269)*

20. Contributing to delinquency of a minor (272)*

21. Willfully causing or permitting any child to suffer under circumstances or conditions likely to produce great bodily harm or death (273aa or 273a1) - this crime is exemptible if conviction occurred prior to 1-1-65.

22. Willfully inflicting any cruel or inhuman corporal punishment or injury on a child (273d)

23. Incest (285)*

24. Sodomy (286)*

25. Lewd or lascivious act upon a child under 14 (288)*

26. Oral copulation (288a)

27. Felony conviction only for distributing lewd material to children (288.2)*

28. Continuous sexual abuse of a child (288.5)*

29. Genital or anal penetration by foreign object (289)*

30. Registering with local law enforcement, for sex offenses (290a)

31. Transporting or distributing child-related pornography (311.2b,c,d)*

32. Sexual exploitation of a child (311.3)* 

33. Using a minor to assist in making or distributing child pornography (311.4)*

34. Advertising or distributing child pornography (311.10)*

35. Possessing child pornography (311.11)*

36. Lewd or obscene exposure of private parts (341(1)or (2))*

37. Poisoning or adulterating food, drink, medicine, pharmaceutical products, spring, well or reservoir (347a)

38. Elder or dependent adult abuse (368)

39. Drawing, exhibiting, or using firearm or deadly weapon (417b)

40. Arson (451a,b)

41. First degree burglary (460a)

42. Gang related extortion (186.22 and 518)

43. Annoy, molest child under 18 (647.6 or former section 647a)*

44. Solicit another to commit rape, sodomy (653fc)*

45. Any attempted murder (664/187)

46. Any felony punishable by death or imprisonment in the state prison for life but not for an indeterminate sentence (667.5c7)

47. Enhancement for any felony which inflicts great bodily injury (66.75c8)

48. Enhancement for violation of penal code section 12308, 12309, 12310 - exploding or igniting or attempting to explode or ignite any destructive device or explosive with the intent to commit murder (667.5c13)

49. Any kidnapping (667.5c14)

50. Enhancement for listed felonies where use of firearm (667.5c22 or 12022.53)

Business and Professions Code Section:

51. Sexual exploitation by physicians, surgeons, psychotherapists, or alcohol and drug abuse counselors. (729)

*A conviction for the attempt to commit these crimes is also non-exemptible.
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