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Since 1997, the long-term care industry has faced an increasingly tight market for liability insurance coverage.  As the number and size of liability cases against nursing homes grows, the cost of liability insurance policies continues to skyrocket.  These high costs have caused insurers to pull out of the market in some states, leaving nursing homes with the option of purchasing coverage from surplus-line carriers, not regulated by the state, or, in extreme cases, operating without liability coverage at all.

Recent reports in Florida and Texas—states with a large number of elderly citizens and, therefore, an extensive nursing home industry—highlighted the acute nature of the problems in those states.  In February 2001, the Florida Health Care Association released the results of an actuarial study that identified Florida as the state with the most severe liability coverage problems.
  The study found that the average liability costs per skilled nursing home bed in Florida were $12,700, or 12 times the average cost for the other 49 states.  Moreover, nearly half the total amount of claims paid for nursing home liability went directly to attorneys, the study found.

The report concluded that, as a result of rising liability costs, insurance companies were “ . . . continu[ing] to exit the state and [could] not provide coverage when faced with this magnitude of losses, explosion in growth of claims, and extreme unpredictability of results.”  According to the report, the high liability costs were so dramatic that they entirely offset the average $28 per day increase in Medicaid reimbursement for nursing homes implemented over a five-year period, from $86 in 1995 to $114 in 2000.

At the same time, the Texas Senate Research Center published a report that examined several factors contributing to the growing liability insurance crisis in that state and compared problems in Texas to those in other states.
  The report indicated that six of Texas’s eight liability insurers pulled out of the state between 1996 and 2000.  In addition, only a few surplus-line carriers, generally considered a “last resort,” were writing policies in the state for fear of large financial losses.

The Texas report suggested that strong patient’s rights laws for nursing home residents could be linked to higher liability claims in Florida and Texas, which had average claims in 1999 of $279,000 and $272,000, respectively, compared to the national average of $112,000.  According to the report, Florida statutes permitted nursing home residents to sue based on a violation of their right to be “informed and provided adequate care.”  If residents were successful, they could obtain actual damages and attorneys’ fees for patient’s rights violations.  (However, tort reform measures enacted later in 2001 would set limits on damage awards and attorneys’ fees).

Similarly, Texas law allows nursing home residents to file a lawsuit based on a violation to a “safe and decent living environment and considerate and respectful care that recognizes the dignity and individuality of the resident,” among other rights.  Because tort reform measures enacted in 1995 specifically excluded limitations on punitive damages from applying to a cause of action based on conduct described as a felony, elderly nursing home residents may not be restricted in their ability to seek punitive damage awards for such violations.

The Texas nursing home association contends that limits on punitive damages are necessary for violations of patient’s rights.  However, the Texas Trial Lawyers’ Association refutes the idea that “liberal” patient’s rights statutes are to blame for the problems nursing homes are experiencing in obtaining coverage.  Nursing homes, trial lawyers assert in the Texas report, could avoid paying damage awards that drive up their liability premiums if they were not responsible for negligent acts toward residents.

The Texas nursing home industry also contends that insurance premiums have increased, in part, because the state allows results from nursing home inspection surveys to be used as evidence in civil actions.  Industry representatives argue that these surveys generally are a pivotal element in negligence cases, but the results may be unreliable or misleading, according to the report.

Despite different perspective on tort reform, both consumer and industry groups in Texas believe inadequate Medicaid reimbursement plays a key role in determining a nursing facility’s increased risk for high liability premiums.
  Inadequate reimbursement rates for nursing homes, these groups contend, have resulted in lower staffing levels that lead to diminished quality of care for residents.  The provision of lower quality of care, in turn, may expose nursing homes to higher actuarial risk and thus larger liability premiums.

State Legislative Actions in 2001

High costs associated with liability settlements in states like Florida and Texas appear to be inflating premiums in other states as well.  The effect is not surprising considering most liability insurers operate as multi-state corporations and base their premium schedules on nationwide claims data, according to a spokesperson for the American Health Care Association (AHCA).  In February 2001, Texas’ liability insurance report, previously mentioned, indicated that, in addition to Florida and Texas, at least seven states—Kentucky, Indiana, Iowa, Missouri, New York, Pennsylvania and Tennessee—reported that rising liability insurance rates were a significant issue for nursing homes.

During the 2001 legislative sessions, at least six states—Arkansas, Florida, Indiana, Massachusetts, Tennessee and Texas—introduced legislative proposals to address the rising cost of liability insurance premiums for nursing homes.  Of these states, three—Arkansas, Florida and Texas—enacted bills by the close of last year’s sessions.

Florida Couples Quality Improvement, Tort Reform Measures

In Florida, the issue of liability coverage for long-term care facilities created intense debate among members of the state’s Task Force on Availability and Affordability of Long-Term Care, established in 2000 to examine a broad range of long-term care access and quality issues.  When the task force convened to make final recommendations to the legislature prior to the 2001 session, members could not reach a consensus to address the mounting crisis for nursing homes and assisted living facilities in obtaining liability coverage.

The stalemate prompted the Florida Senate Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care to issue a February 2001 Interim Project Report on Long-Term Care Affordability and Availability that included broad recommendations for enhancing consumer choice, increasing quality of care, and stabilizing financial risk in long-term care.  Among the committee’s recommendations were provisions to cap attorneys’ fee and damages in resident’s rights lawsuits and remove the state’s existing mandate for assisted living facilities to carry liability insurance.  (Prior to legislative reforms in 2001, assisted living facilities, but not nursing homes, were required to carry liability coverage).

When lawmakers took up the debate in March, they enacted legislation that implemented some, but not all, of the committee’s recommendations.  While legislators included significant tort reform measures, they reversed provisions related to mandatory liability coverage—adding coverage requirements for nursing homes to the existing mandate for assisted living facilities rather than making coverage voluntary for both types of facilities.

Major provisions of the legislation, included in Senate Bill 1202, establish the following:

· A clearly defined negligence standard.  Applies a “reasonable care” standard to care provided by non-nursing staff, applies a standard of care “ . . . consistent with the prevailing professional standard of care for that level of care, skill and treatment” that is “ . . . recognized as acceptable and appropriate by reasonably prudent similar nurses” to nurses.

· An exclusive remedy for a cause of action resulting from a resident’s rights violation or negligence.  Prohibits claimants from obtaining both survival and wrongful death damages in cases where a resident dies.  Allows a claimant prevailing in seeking injunctive relief or an administrative remedy to recover costs of the action, but not damages.

· A claims evaluation process.  Claimants must give prior notice of 75 days before filing a claim against a facility.  A facility may use the 75-day period to conduct a claims evaluation process and respond to the notification in writing.  Once a written response is given to the claimant, both parties have 30 days to meet in mediation.  Afterwards, the claimant has 60 days to file suit.

· Revisions to the statute of limitations.  Actions must be initiated within two years of discovering an incident’s occurrence, but no later than four years after the occurrence.  In cases where the occurrence was fraudulently concealed or intentionally misrepresented, the statute of limitation is extended two years from the time of discovery, but may not be initiated later than six years after the occurrence.

· Limitations on punitive damages.  Facilities may be liable for punitive damages if they are guilty of intentional misconduct or gross negligence.  Punitive damages may not exceed the greater of three times the compensatory damages awarded each claimant, or $1 million.  Under particular circumstances, caps on punitive damages may be higher, and when there is specific intent to harm, no limitation applies.

· Caps on attorneys’ fees.  Attorneys’ fees are repealed for injury or death cases and capped at $25,000 for claims with a court order for an administrative remedy.
Recognizing that ensuring quality of care is a necessary element in addressing the liability issue as well, the Legislature also set new initiatives aimed at improving the care of nursing home residents.  These include higher nursing home staffing standards for direct care workers; new training requirements for certified nursing assistants; increased penalties for nursing homes with deficiencies; and a study of the use of electronic monitoring devices to monitor quality of care in nursing homes.

In a separate bill, lawmakers created the Quality of Long-Term Care Facility Improvement Trust Fund to support quality improvement initiatives in nursing homes and assisted living facilities.  These funds may be used for:

· Mentoring programs that increase competence, professionalism and career preparation of direct care staff;

· Specialized training programs for personnel who provide direct care to Alzheimer’s residents, residents at risk of developing pressure sores, and residents with special nutrition needs;


· Economic and other incentives for enhancing the stability and career development of direct care workers; and

· Promoting active involvement of resident and family councils in improving nursing home care.

Following Florida’s enactment of legislative reforms last May, the Florida Health Care Association contracted with the Florida Policy Exchange Center on Aging at the University of South Florida to conduct a follow-up study that examined the extent of the liability insurance crisis in the state.
  The study, released in December 2001, found that three out of five Florida nursing homes were sued in 2001.  Although the tort reforms that took effect in late 2001 may curb the number of lawsuits, the report found that, on average, nursing homes were paying nearly $150,000 in premiums to obtain, in many cases, only limited liability coverage.  In addition, the report found that one out of five facilities are uninsured and another 36 percent of facilities indicated they were self-insured.  Twenty-eight percent of facilities indicated that they did not expect to renew their coverage.

As a result, nursing homes are seeking alternative methods for coverage due to the lack of traditional liability insurance options.
  Strategies include dollar for dollar coverage, even when such options require significant service fees; creating “captives,” or informal insurance pools that cover claims for their facilities that are “members” of a group; and de-licensing a portion of facility beds.  Other nursing homes have begun contributing monthly to savings accounts that may be rolled over if the state establishes a bond program.

In 2002, lawmakers introduced one proposal, House Bill 387, which would open the Florida Residential Property and Casualty Joint Underwriting Association to nursing homes and assisted living facilities.  But key legislative staff believe legislators are likely to take a “wait-and-see” approach this year.

Texas Mandates Liability Coverage, Opens Joint Underwriting Association to Nursing Homes

The Texas Legislature enacted a bill last June that establishes temporary and “extraordinary” measures to facilitate the recovery of for-profit and not-for-profit long-term care facilities in the state.  The “Long-Term Care Facility Improvement Act” contains provisions that address liability insurance, the nursing home survey process, and quality improvement.

The act requires nursing homes, as of Sept. 1, 2003, to maintain professional liability insurance coverage.  Minimum annual coverage must include at least $1 million per occurrence of a violation and $3 million total coverage, and must be written on a claims-made basis.  Because Texas designates a specific component of the state’s Medicaid reimbursement rate for liability insurance costs, lawmakers directed the state to withhold this portion of the rate payment from nursing homes that do not establish acceptable liability coverage.

Nursing homes that can not obtain liability coverage in the marketplace may apply for liability coverage under the state’s Medical Liability Insurance Underwriting Association, known as the Joint Underwriting Association (JUA).  The JUA must offer discounted rates of 30 percent to not-for-profit nursing homes compared to rates given to for-profit homes with the same coverage.

Coverage under the JUA must include compensatory damages only, not exemplary damages, even if the insurance company chooses to go to court rather than settling a claim within a policy’s limits.  Therefore, a nursing home, not the JUA, would be responsible for paying any exemplary damages awarded in court.  This is an exception to Texas’ “Stower’s doctrine” that normally requires the insurer to cover these costs if they choose not settle within a policy’s limits.  These provisions apply only to coverage for occurrences between Jan. 1, 2002 and Jan. 1, 2006.

To protect other providers who obtain coverage through the JUA, the legislature created a separate policyholder’s stabilization fund for nursing homes.  Lawmakers also authorized a revenue bond program to ensure that the stabilization fund can be maintained and permitted a surcharge fee to be assessed against carriers to pay the service debt on the bonds.  The bond program has not been utilized yet, according to staff with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

In addition, the law requires the court to notify the Department of Human Services of exemplary damages awarded against a nursing home.  It also clarifies that a survey, complaint investigation, incident investigation or surveyor testimony of the Department of Human Services is admissible under the state’s Rules of Evidence.

To link liability premiums to efforts in maintaining or improving quality of care, the legislation directed the state insurance commissioner to adopt best practices for risk management and loss control for nursing homes, which the commissioner did in late 2001.  The standards may not be considered in determining civil actions against nursing homes, but offer guidance intended to minimize insurance claims against them.  Insurers are authorized to take into consideration whether a nursing home has adopted such practices in determining the facility’s liability insurance rate.

Further, provisions establish additional training requirements for long-term care facility surveyors; require a review of the survey process for long-term care facilities; and direct the Health and Human Services Commission, rather than the state survey agency, to conduct the informal dispute resolution process.  Other provisions direct the state Health and Human Services Commission to establish an “early warning system” to detect conditions that might be harmful to the health and safety of residents in long-term care facilities.  Implementation will include an analysis of financial and quality-of-care indicators that would predict the need for the state to take action in such circumstances; the establishment of regional offices to monitor quality of care in long-term care facilities; and the creation of a rapid response team for visiting facilities identified by the system.

Currently, the Texas Department of Human Services and a legislative interim committee are conducting a study on the implementation of the liability insurance provisions established by the legislature in 2001.  The study is focusing on the reform’s effects on fostering a competitive market for, and improving the availability and affordability of, nursing home liability insurance; examining the adequacy of Medicaid reimbursement rates for covering liability insurance costs; and determining the impact of exemplary damage awards on liability insurance rates for nursing homes.  A final report is due Dec. 1, 2004.

To date, one non-for-profit nursing home has obtained liability coverage under the JUA at half the cost of coverage available in the marketplace, according to health and human services staff.  That number may rise by September 2003, however, when the mandatory liability coverage requirement takes effect.  Committee staff also indicate that lawmakers have appropriated more than $430 million to cover costs associated with liability coverage through the state’s Medicaid program.

Arkansas Implements Nursing Home Liability Insurance Pool

Following legislation enacted in 2001, the state’s Department of Insurance is proceeding with plans to create a voluntary liability insurance pool for nursing homes this year.  Lawmakers approved provisions for the pool in April 2001, directing the state insurance commissioner to study whether liability insurance was “readily available” in the state and establish the pool if he found a lack of available coverage.

Based on a hearing held in the fall of 2000, Commissioner Mike Pickens determined that the “rising cost of long-term care coverage has become cost prohibitive, causing some nursing homes to report they currently do not have long-term liability protection, or they expect to be without it in the near future,” according to an October press release by the insurance department.  Among the department’s findings was that five out of eighty insurers certified to write long-term liability policies in Arkansas had policies registered with the state Department of Insurance.  Of the five registered, two were writing policies for businesses; however, one of the two is not renewing its policies and the other is only selectively renewing them.  The department indicated that surplus-line carriers were writing policies in the state, but excluding coverage for punitive damages and claims related to physical or sexual abuse.

In addition to requesting a legislative study on the issue, the commissioner, with his announcement, allowed the department to proceed with implementation of the voluntary liability insurance plan authorized by the legislature.  The plan will provide coverage, on a per violation basis, that is limited to $1 million per occurrence and a $3 million aggregate amount per year.  Coverage will include actual damages, noneconomic compensatory damages and defense costs, but not punitive damages and other standard exceptions in liability contracts.
Legislative Proposals Pending in 2002

This year, lawmakers in at least six states—Iowa, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Tennessee—introduced or carried over legislation to address the liability insurance crisis for nursing homes.  Of these states, five—Iowa, Mississippi, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Tennessee—are debating tort reform measures.

Iowa

Proposed legislation (House Bill 648) would add nursing facilities and nursing facility administrators to the existing list of health care providers that are subject to limitations on the recovery of actual economic damages in malpractice actions.  The bill limits actual economic damages for losses including, but not limited to, the cost of reasonable and necessary medical care, rehabilitation services and custodial care, and the loss of services or earned income, to the extent they are replaced or indemnified by insurance or other third-party sources.

Massachusetts

Massachusetts carried over a bill (House Bill 2315) that would allow nursing homes to include actual liability insurance costs as an allowable “add-on” for Medicaid reimbursement purposes.

Mississippi

Several bills introduced in Mississippi would implement reforms for malpractice cases against nursing homes.  Senate Bill 2342 authorizes the court to draw jurors from contiguous counties, in addition to the county where a lawsuit is filed, for civil suits involving potential awards of more than $5 million, or an unspecified amount.  A multi-county jury pool would be permissible upon the request of either party.

A second bill, Senate Bill 2652, would mandate the confidentiality of reports, records, correspondence and other materials relating to accreditation or quality assurance that are prepared by the state health department.  Alternatively, the department would be responsible for making public a written summary of such documents in cases involving substantial noncompliance with licensure standards or deficiencies that represent a threat to public safety or patient care.

The proposal also includes nursing homes under the state’s 2-year statute of limitations for tort claims involving injury or wrongful death.  In addition, seven-year statute of limitations would apply if a claim is delayed because the cause of action was fraudulently concealed from the claimant.

Ohio

Lawmakers in Ohio are considering legislation (House Bill 412) that would include several major limitations on a long-term care facility’s liability for medical claims.  Major provisions of the legislation would:

· Apply the current statute of limitations for medical, dental, optometric and chiropractic claims to nursing homes and residential facilities.   That statute would require actions against these facilities to be brought within one year of the cause of action, except if the claimant gives the facility notice that he or she is considering an action, then the action must be initiated within 180 days after notice is given.  In no event, however, may such an action be commenced later than four years after the cause of action.

· Extend the definition of “medical claim” by including those claims that involve resident’s rights violations, and those that result from acts or omissions in providing health care or from hiring, training, supervision, retention or termination of health caregivers.

· Prohibit the recovery of punitive or exemplary damages from a nursing home or residential facility unless both of the following apply: 1) the facility’s actions or omissions demonstrate “malice, aggravated or egregious fraud, oppression or insult,” or the facility authorized, participated in, or ratified actions or omissions of an agent or servant that demonstrate such behavior; and 2) the plaintiff has proof of actual damages that resulted from such actions or omissions.

· Establish that, in determining the amount of a punitive or exemplary damage award, the following must be considered: 1) the facility’s ability to pay the award based on assets, income and net worth; 2) whether the amount of the award is sufficient to deter future tortious conduct; and 3) the facility’s ability, including future ability, to provide accommodations, personal care services and skilled nursing care.

· Prohibit results of a facility inspection or investigation, conducted for the purpose of determining compliance with resident’s rights or medical assistance standards, from being used as evidence in court.  An exception is made only for appeals by a state agency in resident’s rights cases.

· Permit a plaintiff, in cases involving a violation of resident’s rights, to obtain injunctive relief and recover compensatory damages based on a showing, by a preponderance of evidence, that the violation resulted from a facility’s negligent act or omission and was the proximate cause of a resident’s injury, death or loss.

· Prohibit a facility’s liability for damages in civil actions for injury, death or loss when there is an alleged resident’s rights violation if: 1) the facility’s employee acted outside his or her scope of employment and authority; or 2) the employee acted in violation of a facility’s written and implemented policy, provided that facility has a monitoring system for its policy.  (This provision does not apply if a facility had actual knowledge of an employee’s actions and failed to implement prompt and appropriate corrective action).

Pennsylvania

The Pennsylvania House approved legislation (House Bill 1802) in late January that would set minimum requirements for liability insurance coverage that apply to all health care providers, including nursing homes.  The proposal also creates a catastrophic loss fund to cover the liability claims of health care providers beyond the minimum coverage requirements, up to certain limits, as described below.

The amount of liability coverage required for nursing homes with policies issued or renewed in calendar year 2002 would be: 1) $500,000 per occurrence or claim and $1.5 million per annual aggregate, for providers that conduct more than 50 percent of their business or practice within the state and participate in the fund; and 2) $500,000 per occurrence or claim and $1.5 million per annual aggregate for providers that conduct 50 percent or less of their business or practice within the state.

The coverage requirement, for policies issued or renewed in calendar year 2003, would be: 1) $500,000 per occurrence or claim and $1.5 million per annual aggregate for nursing homes that conduct more than 20 percent of their business or practice in Pennsylvania; and 2) $1 million per occurrence or claim and $3 million per annual aggregate for nursing homes that conduct 20 percent or less of their business or practice in-state.
  The state insurance commissioner would be required to determine whether to increase coverage requirements in future years based on studies of the liability insurance market.

The bill permits nursing homes to establish coverage through a licensed and approved liability insurance policy or self-insurance, but requires all providers that conduct more than 20 percent of their business or practice in-state to participate in the catastrophic loss fund.  The catastrophic loss fund would be responsible for the cost of liability claims against providers beyond the minimum coverage requirements within the following limits: 1) for calendar year 2002, $700,000 per occurrence and $2.1 million per annual aggregate; 2) for calendar years 2003 and each year thereafter, $500,000 per claim and $1.5 million per annual aggregate.

If the basic coverage requirement is increased, the fund’s liability limit will be $250,000 per claim and $950,000 per annual aggregate.  If coverage requirements are increased to $1 million per occurrence and $3 million per annual aggregate for nursing homes, then the fund will no longer be responsible for claims.  The health department may choose to defend, litigate, settle or compromise any claim payable under the fund, which would be maintained first by a surcharge on providers’ required liability coverage and then an assessment on participating providers.

The legislation also establishes a statute of limitations of two years from the date an injured person knew, or should have known by using reasonable diligence, of the injury and its cause; or four years from the date of the breach of duty or event that caused the injury.  In addition, provisions allow health care providers to condition initial or continued acceptance of a patient on the patient’s consent to: 1) a limitation on economic damages of not less than $250,000 in a medical liability action; or 2) nonbinding mediation of a liability claim. 

Other provisions permit a health care provider to be held liable for failure to seek a patient’s consent if that provider makes a “knowing, willful and affirmative misrepresentation” to the patient regarding the provider’s professional credentials, training or experience; allow a change of venue, upon petition by a defendant, for liability actions under specified circumstances; and establish qualifications for expert witnesses that testify in liability cases.

Tennessee

Tennessee lawmakers are considering a bill (Senate Bill 1611) that would limit all claims against a nursing home for pain and suffering.  Such claims, including those awarded by a jury, may not exceed $350,000 under the bill’s provisions.  The court may not, however, instruct a jury on the limits, but is required to enter a judgement of $350,000 for claims for pain and suffering if the jury’s verdict is greater than this amount.

The Outlook

As liability premiums continue to soar, state policymakers appear to be considering the matter with careful scrutiny.  Seeking a balance between strong resident’s rights and adequate protections for the long-term care industry, legislators are aware of the enormous implications that actions such as tort reform and state funding for liability insurance can have on the interested parties, not the least of which are consumers, providers and states.

At the same time industry groups declare the crisis “as high a priority as Medicaid reimbursement,” according to an AHCA spokesperson, consumer protection advocates, including the National Citizens’ Coalition for Nursing Home Reform (NCCNHR) and the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), are pointing to the lack of quality being provided in nursing home care as the prime culprit.

Because the nursing home industry predicts the lack of coverage will be so widespread, AHCA plans to take the issue to Congress in addition to pushing reforms at the state level this year.  The emphasis, though, will be on increasing awareness of the problem and protecting the privacy of nursing home survey documents that are used by lawyers to generate large numbers of claims.

On the other side, advocates for patient’s rights in nursing homes continue to tout inspection and enforcement activities, as well as opportunities for residents to participate in litigation, as necessary protections for a vulnerable nursing home population.  These measures are a “way to open [the nursing home industry’s] eyes,” says Janet Wells, NCCNHR’s public policy director.

Clearly, state lawmakers face a daunting task of striking what, to this point, has remained an elusive balance among these priorities.
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