HISTORY OF ADULT DAY HEALTH CARE (ADHC) IN CALIFORNIA

	1974-78
	On Lok Demonstration Project.

	1975
	AB 1810 (McCarthy) authorized ADHC pilot projects administered by Department of Health Services (DHS).

	1975-78
	Pilot project phase – 5 pilots (Sacramento, San Francisco, San Diego).

	1978
	AB 1611 enacted making California the first state to pass legislation to make ADHC a specific licensure category and a Medi-Cal benefit.  It had the following provisions:

· Made ADHC a Medi-Cal benefit – Medi-Cal rate set at base rate of $19.07 per day.

· Made ADHC a licensing category.

· Established advisory ADHC Review Committee at state level.

· Limited ADHC to public or private, non-profit community organizations.

· Established local involvement in planning and approving services (County ADHC Planning council and Plan).

· Sunset clause – January 1, 1983.

	1982
	AB 2378 (Torres) enacted to continue ADHC as a permanent licensure category and Medi-Cal benefit.

	1983
	Transition regulations – allowed persons in skilled nursing facilities to attend ADHC to determine if transition to ADHC was possible.  Authorized Medi-Cal payment for 5 transition days, at a reimbursement rate that is 85% of normal daily ADHC rate.

	1984
	SB 1337

· Authorized 3-year transfer of ADHC program from DHS to California Department of Aging (CDA).

· Expanded membership and changed name of ADHC Review Committee to State Long-Term Care Committee

Medi-Cal rate increase (17.5%)

	1985
	Medi-Cal rate increase (4% increase)

	1986
	Medi-Cal rate increase to $37.68 (average 16.8%) – rate structure changed to flat daily rate per participant day of attendance.



	1987
	Medi-Cal rate increase to $39.45 (4.7% increase).

SB 601 enacted to make permanent the transfer of the ADHC program from DHS to CDA.

AB 1590 enacted to expand the membership of the local ADHC Planning Councils.

Veterans Administration begins contracting for ADHC services.

	1988
	Transfer of ADHC fiscal audit function from DHS to CDA.

	1989
	Medi-Cal rate increase to $45.85 (16.2% increase).

Adult Day Care Food Program implemented by the Department of Education.

	1990
	SB 2429 enacted to authorize rural alternative ADHC program.

	1992
	Implemented rural alternative program and maintenance program provisions of SB 2429 and SB 681.

Consolidated certification renewal survey function in CDA.

Approval of first ADHC satellite site.

	1993
	Transfer of Medi-Cal claims payment function from CDA to EDS.

Implemented new policy allowing residents of ICF/DD-H facilities to attend ADHC centers.

Implemented dual program provisions of SB 2429 and SB 681, allowing the delivery of other types of adult day services operating under the ADHC license.

	1994
	Medi-Cal rate increase to $54.30 (18.4% increase).

	1995
	SB 1492 enacted to eliminate licensure restrictions and allowed individuals and for-profit entities to be licensed and certified as ADHC providers.

AB 1882 enacted to allow residents of ICF/DD-H facilities to attend ADHC centers.

	1997
	Medi-Cal rate increase to $57.43 (5.8% increase).

	1998
	Medi-Cal rate increase to $61.61 (7.3% increase).

	1999
	SB 1817 enacted authorizing DHS/CDA to review combined ADHC/ADC programs and updating statutes.

SB 1361 enacted authorizing the use of secured perimeters under specified conditions.

Medi-Cal rate increase to $63.62 (3.3% increase).
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